All I wanted for Christmas was Mindy Kaling’s book (and a job, but I was trying to be realistic). I had known since summer that it was slated to be released in November, so I started notifying gift-giving relatives that this was my one desire.

I was a fan of the American version of The Office for a time (starting at Season 2 and progressing until the moment Pam and Jim got together, after which point there was no reason for me to continue watching), so I was familiar with Kaling and her work. I’m one to watch DVD extras, so I was aware of the episodes she had written and lines she had given comedic birth to. I was also a follower of her old fashion blog and occasionally noticed her tweets.

Mindy Kaling's book

After receiving Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? at Christmas I devoured the first 60 pages in a very short amount of time. I stopped myself. I wanted to savor this book. I could already tell from the few short chapters I had sped through that I would not only love this book, but I could relate to her plights on a sincere level.

So I slowly tasted a chapter or two between my library marathon (which was basically me trying to read as many books that I could only get from the college library as quickly as possible before my card expired). Kaling is brutally honest about the awkward things she’s done, which I have major respect for. We all have those moments that even today make use cringe, but not everyone can write about it in an amusing way. It didn’t feel like she was trying to gain my sympathy, it felt like she was just trying to relay events in her life that helped form her into the person she is today.

There are plenty of amazing, and not so awkward, entries as well. Kaling gives advice to men on how to maintain themselves in a way she sees fit and lists some of her movie ideas (which seriously need to be picked up. Female Ghostbusters? Hell yes).

I respect Kaling for her flawless taste in romantic comedies and hot men, but I also appreciate her brutal honesty about her size. I’ve read tons of chic lit that have a heroine that makes a big deal about her size, and she’s only 130. That crap annoys me. Same thing for movies that have treat size 9 actresses like they’re massive. (And as much as I love Bridget Jones I have to say that the books and movies are both guilty of this).

Close to the end of the book there’s a chapter about her ludicrous experience at a photoshoot, where she was treated in a heinously disrespectful way because she wasn’t a size zero. Instead of wearing a muumuu she stands up for herself and her size. I believe it is within this chapter, or one in proximity to it, that she reveals her size. She’s a size 8, and she’s treated like an elephant. This is bullshit. I want to go off on a rant on modern standards of beauty and health, but I won’t, instead I’ll say that Kaling is a BAMF for being a woman in Hollywood and owning her size (even though she shouldn’t have to).

I’m glad I got a peek inside the hilarious mind of a writer I’ve been a fan of for awhile. I recently saw some rumors that she’s in talks to get her own show on another network. All I have to say after reading her book is that she deserves some serious attention for her overall awesome.

