I leave tomorrow for the Bay area so that I can attend the AAA (American Anthropological Association) conference. I am so excited to be able to meet so many amazing people in my field in one quick week.

I volunteered to help out at the conference because apparently I like to give myself more work. I’ll be tabling (Chico State has prepared me for all sorts of tabling conditions, haha) and writing some stories for AnthroNews.

I have to say I am most excited/nervous about writing for AnthroNews.

I haven’t written for a news-source since January. I’ve been writing on-and-off for papers and zines since mid-2005, so I have many years of experience under my belt. I guess I’m nervous because I haven’t sat down and written in AP Style for a long time. Luckily while I’m up for the conference I will be reunited with my AP Stylebook, which brings me joy on multiple nerdy levels.

Overall I’m honored to be a part of a conference with such a prolific history.

As a grad student I’m excited to make connections that could benefit my work and maybe lead to employment.

I’m so excited and yet I have so much to do before I get there! Books to return to the library, film showing to attend, clothes to pack, homework to finish! It all seems so mundane when I think about the comfort of my own bed being less than 48 hours away!

