Yesterday my best friend took me over to her grandparent’s place and they made us a massive breakfast. They cooked and cooked and cooked and we kept begging them to stop because we were already stuffed! It was sweet. They also yelled at anyone who tried to clean up.
Later they patiently taught us how to make tamales (sweet ones!). My friend and I can understand Spanish better than we speak it, but the grandparents didn’t speak a lot of English at all. It was amusing. We would occasionally nod and pretend like we totally understood what they meant. It was messy work, but after having experts show us the methods we got the hang of it. At one point, we only have four tamales left to make, the grandmother came over and told us we were making “very ugly” tamales and rewrapped the ones in our hands to be correct, she hadn’t noticed that all the ones we had wrapped were the same “ugly” style. We laughed over it. We would all have to eat the tamales for dinner so it wasn’t a big deal.
I’ve noticed in farm worker homes that there is a lot of pride around providing for families and making their homes nice. I feel like that’s a part of my project I’d like to touch on because of all the stereotypical images we get from movies and some news agencies. Stock photos really. I’ve been looking at a few books on the history of fieldworkers being photographed and it’s an interesting pattern of making them look poor and dirty, not highlighting the aspects of life that they take pride in.
I have two more days of blissful break before I head back to reality/my bookstacks of research material at home. I best enjoy myself.

20121214-085754.jpg

