My excitement for this year’s NaNoWriMo is fueled by the fact that this will be my first year of participation in which I am not in school, meaning I can actually focus on a story. Since graduating in August I’ve also been wanting to get back into journalism (though that word apparently leaves a bad taste in some people’s mouths), but I’m nervous about writing for publication again after such a gap.

In order to prepare myself for the rigors of publication I’ve been writing more here reading more diverse texts (grad school assigned reading was very topic specific). I know fiction isn’t journalistic but the goal of good storytelling transcends style differences.

I may submit some of my book reviews to small, local publications just for the byline. I guess this means I’m trying to *gasp* FREELANCE.

Does anyone have freelancing advice? General writing advice for someone who hasn’t done it professionally in awhile?

