I just got a call from my supervisor about coming in earlier than my on-call shift. Instead of coming in at 3 p.m. I was asked to come in at 11 a.m.. It was 9:30 when they called and I was in the midst of cleaning for my guest.

I asked them if I would leave early if I started early. No, they said, I would have to work until 7:45 p.m. as usual.

I said no, I needed time to clean the house for my guest.

They said, in that case, I could come in at 11:45 a.m.

I said no. That really wasn’t enough time for me to do what I needed before my guest came.

This isn’t the first time I’ve gotten a call the day of to come in for a shift I was not scheduled for. Last Sunday I had no been scheduled at all (no on-calls) and I got a call around 10 a.m. asking if I could come in. When I asked what time I was told, “As soon as possible.” I told her I couldn’t because I already had plans and was kind of given the runaround like today (she asked when I would be done, if I could do it later, etc.).

It’s interesting to me because of the tone of the interactions, as if I’m the one in the wrong for not being able to make a last minute shift change. I’m pretty sure they said we had to have three-days notice before a shift, and lately, between the last-minute calls and late release of the schedule, I don’t think they’re following that guideline.

 

