In 2013 I received my MA in Visual Anthropology (guess what that means!) from USC. I graduated from Chico State in 2011 with BAs in Journalism and Anthropology. My first writing gig was at my high school paper in Bakersfield and I’ve been doing the journalist thing ever since.

At USC I produced a short documentary about teenage farmworkers in California. Having grown up in the Central Valley I felt that the narratives of farmworkers are often overlooked despite the fact that their hands touch almost all the food we consume. What an intimate interaction to have with communities we know very little about. The film is currently on a hard drive waiting to go up on Vimeo on Demand.

After graduating from USC I interned, temped and read a lot of Hemingway and Austen. Most recently I’ve been filling in as Web Editor at Sierra, the magazine of The Sierra Club. That job allowed me to get paid to play around on social media with some fantastic content.

In the spirit of viral social posts here is a list to get to know me better:

10 Things You Won’t Believe About Bianca Hernandez

1. She won a Big Lebowksi costume contest.
2. Tacos are the only super-food she believes in.
3. She suspects cinema may have peaked with Kurosawa.
4. She was a high school Scrabble champ and it’s all been downhill since then.
5. Her goal in life is to work for the BBC.
6. She’s been known to take can-can classes.
7. Caitlin Moran is her lady-journalist hero (and style guru).
8. If given the choice, she would live in Belgium and subsist only on waffles, fries, beer and chocolate.
9. In 2013 she won the best producer award at Trojan Vision, the USC TV station.
10. She likes her sugar with coffee and cream.

Follow my shenanigans on Instagram (@biancahernandez), Twitter (@bookhoarding), IMDB and my personal website, http://www.biancahernandez.com.

