Happy Birthday, Jane Austen!

Jane Austen, snarky Regency author who gifted the world Mr. Darcy, was born on December 16, 1775. It’s become a tradition, of sorts, to spend this week rewatching Austen-inspired movies, rereading her works and spending time with our fellow Janeites.

Decembers have become a warm and loving time for me. I usually have a large part in planning a local Austen birthday gala, along with virtual fun for the now defunct Drunk Austen. A mix of stress (Internalized of course. I’m a producer, it’s what I do.) and joy meet in the early weeks of December. I’m eager to see old friends, and make sure the speaker arrives ok, and make sure the birthday cake turns out nicely, and then making sure a livetweet is in place later for Janeites across the world, or maybe just a Watch Party on Facebook, but I have to fight sleep to keep up with the comments because I love when we collectively type “BOILED POTATOES” or “PIG BALLS” and then maybe I turn up at another few parties just because.

Anyway, December Austen events are a norm for me now, but this year many of us will be toasting to her at home, instead of together. But that shouldn’t make it less special. Below I have some ideas for how to celebrate, along with a streaming guide and drink suggestions. And at the end I have some fun memories to share from Austen events of previous years.

It’s been an intense year. As we look back on previous celebrations and dream of irl celebrations in the future, I hope that you also take a moment to think about the community, the Austen fandom, and what brings you joy in it. I hope, too, that you think about the lessons in Austen’s work about taking care of those we love. It’s been a hard year for many of us, but in the years ahead this community is going to have to keep growing and addressing gatekeeping, yes, gatekeeping. (Does that make you uncomfortable? Good. Sit with this. Keep reading.)

I love Janeite spaces, but not all of them are welcoming. I’ve seen sexism and racism and snobbery. This community brings so many of us joy, but it has also made others feel unwelcome or othered. I urge you to think about privilege in these spaces, and stand up to racism, sexism, ageism and any other discriminatory behavior you see. If Austen is for everyone, then you are tasked with asking who is being left out or excluded.

Along with taking care of each other, Austen talks a lot about self-care and healing. While taking the waters or being dipped into the sea aren’t recommended right now, I hope you all find time to take care of yourselves this winter, whether through reading, calling old friends or just remembering to drink water (I’m bad at that too). You’re important, and you deserve the world, so take care of yourself. (And wear a mask!)

Ideas on how you can celebrate Jane Austen’s birthday:

What should I drink?

Whether you want a cocktail or a wine-based drink, I’ve got a decent list of toasting options for you here.

What’s streaming?

  • Pride and Prejudice 1995 – HBO Max, Hulu
  • Pride and Prejudice 1995 – Netflix (leaving at end of month, so watch ASAP)
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies 2016 – Hulu, Sling
  • Sense and Sensibility 1995 – Hulu, Sling, Starz, Prime
  • Northanger Abbey 2007 – Prime,
  • Northanger Abbey 1986 – Prime, Britbox
  • Becoming Jane 2007 – Tubi, Hulu, HBO Max, Prime
  • Mansfield Park 1999 – Prime
  • Mansfield Park 2007 – Hoopla, Prime
  • Emma 2020 – HBO Max
  • Emma 1996 – HBO Max
  • Persuasion 2007 – Prime
  • Love and Friendship – Prime
  • Sanditon – Prime

(Based on search info in the US. I tried to get as accurate info as I could without having all the services myself. You may need add-on apps or subscriptions to get access to some of these titles.)

I made a British Drama Bingo set if you want to add a little more fun.

How are you celebrating Jane Austen’s birthday this year?

Here’s a look back at some of my favorite irl Austen-birthday bashes!

2019 – JASNA NorCal

Soniah Kamal, author of Unmarriageable, joined us for our 2019 gala

Last year the incredible Sonia Kamal joined JASNA NorCal for our birthday gala. If you haven’t heard her talk about her book, Unmarriageable, then please do yourself a favor and watch some of her talks and appearances.

The venue was an Art Deco women’s club, overlooking Lake Merritt, and was divinely decorated for the holidays. I can’t wait for a time after the pandemic when we can visit the venue again.

2016 – JASNA NorCal

I remember this gala well because I had just moved to the city and decided taking the bus to the gala, which meant I had to slog back home in the rain. In heels. Up a very steep hill. With a whole, massive tea set in my arms. I was so happy. Genuinely, after a day of fun and joy, I can’t help but be happy even after all that.

Claire Bellanti spoke on traveling libraries of the Regency era. It was riveting. You should read up on them if you haven’t heard of them.

The millinery genius, Lynn McMasters, was there with her absolutely amazing Regency hats. She used me to demonstrate putting together a Regency turban.

2015 – JASNA NorCal

On December 5th, 2015 I was lucky enough to attend the JASNA NorCal Regionā€™s birthday gala. There are few things that could keep me away from a Jane Austen event. Iā€™d notoriously put off grad school work to spend the day taking public transit across town for a book club and woken up at dawn to drive to Chapman for a JASNA meeting, so waking up at 8 a.m. on a Saturday in the name of Jane isnā€™t outside the realm of possibility for me.

I arrived right on time to grab my name tag, a cup of water for tea and start the ice-breaker that everyone else was cheerfully chipping away at. My favorite part of any of the Jane Austen events Iā€™ve attended is the fact that I can always feel at home with my fellow Janeites. I saw some familiar faces and some new ones, but my eyes were mostly drawn to the table covered in drawing prizes. I silently hoped I had cash on me for once.

Lisa Pliscou, author of ā€œYoung Jane Austen,ā€ sat with Holly Brady and gave us a great overview of her book and Austenā€™s early life. I appreciated hearing how and why the book was structured the way it was and understanding all of the research Pliscou did for it. When we transitioned to questions from the crowd I was really impressed with her knowledge of Austen biographers and history. Needless to say, I tried to take down as many books for my ā€œto readā€ list as a could.

Tea came next, with a wide array of sandwiches, scones and fruit. (I love Austen events because I know Iā€™ll be fed.) Pliscou gave the champagne toast to Jane (which you can view on the JASNA NorCal Facebook page and we worked on a quiz while eagerly awaiting a trip to Pemberley at Christmas.

ā€œMiss Bennet,ā€ by Lauren Gunderson and Margot Melcon, is a lovely play that takes place in the Darcy household, where (most of) the Bennet sisters reunite for the holiday. I shamelessly giggled at the witty lines from the Darcys and perfectly awkward acting from Mary Bennet and Arthur de Bourgh, a new and wonderful character. The play was in-progress at the time and has since been staged many times.

We concluded with drawing prizes and announcements. And that was the year I became a regional co- coordinator now!

2015 – Sacramento Library

In December of 2015, I attended the Jane Austen Birthday Tea at the Sacramento Public Library. The event started with tea, consisting of delicious sandwiches, scones and other goodies, sending me into a blissful state of warmth and fullness as only a high tea can do. Since I was surrounded by Janeites, awesome Regency attire and Austen-swag, I felt almost like I was in my own Austen-esque film.

I took a quick trip to Pemberley (thanks to a fab backdrop) and then settled in for a talk about Jane Fairfax by Dr. Alessa Johns. After a quick break, and a close of the silent auction, the crowd was treated to lessons on English Country Dance by Kalia Kliban, with Quite Carried Away playing some fantastic music. I danced multiple rounds, getting parched and warm in the process and even managing to insert a little modern movement into the traditional steps.

English country dancing is a lot more strenuous than youā€™d think!

2013 – JASNA NorCal

My first Jane Austen birthday event. I wanted to start with my IG post below. Taken at the BART station and posted en route at 7:50 a.m. I don’t think the breakfast started until 9 a.m., but I was living farther in East Bay and… you gotta wake up early on weekends for Jane!

Looked it up and I think this was posted at 7:50 a.m. YEAH

After trekking to the venue I got a hearty breakfast, chatted with members and had a delightful day. I remember we played a demo version of a Jane Austen board game, and later a quiz game and drawing where my table won lots of prizes and shared the bounty. I remember feeling so stuffed and somehow still eating delightful tea sandwiches mere hours later.

I felt so welcomed that first event. There’s something about walking into a room and knowing we can all talk about Austen, and through that, find joy in a unique perspectives.

If youā€™d like to support me and my work (or see previews of my upcoming projects),Ā please consider donating to my Ko-fi.Ā These funds go toward production fees, which helps me be able to share my tutorials with you all.

Leave a comment